Am I ashamed of my vegetarianism?

Vegetarian motivationI realized shortly after writing the “About” page, that it didn’t even cross my mind to include vegetarianism, though I’ve been a vegetarian for over 20 years. Diet manipulation has been a rather important part of my life since late high school. At (usually) different times, I’ve tried veganism, grain-free, soy-free, high-protein, dairy-free, egg-free, and probably a few other variations of my vegetarianism. Still, ever since 3rd grade, no meat, no poultry, and no seafood have remained constants. Why then, was vegetarianism not high on the list of topics when I brainstormed what this blog would cover?

I am not an ostentatious vegetarian. I don’t proselytize. I’ve always taken a “lead by example” approach in many aspects of my life, and diet is no exception. If people ask me about when I started or why I do it (a fairly common question), I have an answer crafted over the years to accurately reflect why I started and why I am still not willing to eat animals.

These days, it is MUCH easier to be a vegetarian than when I started. People are more understanding and good food options are much easier to find (this is not the case yet in Latin America). In fact, only one person has given me a hard time about my vegetarianism in recent years, and he is a friend who I feel does it more to keep me thinking than anything else. Despite all this, I do not identify with vegetarians. In fact, stuff like the following makes me laugh my ass off:

carnivore-support-groupThe percentage of vegetarians in the US hasn’t really changed in decades, perhaps longer (~5%). However, my perception is that vegetarians today are more outspoken than before…and so much of the way in which they justify their vegetarianism turns me off. The evidence and absolutism can be mind-numbing.

**As a note, this goes for many other diets as well AND I do know other low-key vegetarians – I’m glad I’m not alone**

So, my decision is not that I am ashamed of my choice. I absolutely believe that until I am willing to kill an animal that I want to eat, I will not eat the result just because someone else did the killing and processing for me.

Can vegetarianism be a healthy diet? Absolutely.

Is vegetarianism good for the planet? Probably.

Are the people comprising the public face of vegetarianism making me want to distance myself? Yup.

That’s really what is going on in my head. I won’t shy away from diet posts on this blog. Hell, I have a TON to share about the subject. Until then, happy eating.

paleo-plate - vegetarian

About Chris Fountain

Start small, but think BIG.
This entry was posted in Diet and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Am I ashamed of my vegetarianism?

  1. What a great post! I just followed you to stay updated on your future posts and I look forward to them. I recently started my own vegan/political blog, so feel free to check it out and let me know what you think!
    http://MannyRutinel.com

    Have a great day! 😀

    Like

  2. Rachel-Elaine says:

    Great post! Been a vegetarian for almost a year. My friends got mad because I neglected to tell them until I was 5 months in. Didn’t think that was deemed necessary to have an emergency Skype meeting about (since we were all away at college.)

    Like

  3. Pingback: The Honduran Experiment: It Begins | FountainFit

Leave a Reply

